

FEDERAL AND TENNESSEE GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS

OF THE STATE OF TH

Updated June 2021

Federal Government Officials		
President of the U.S.	Joe Biden (D)	
Vice President (& President of the Senate)	Kamala Harris (D)	
Speaker of the House	Nancy Pelosi (D)	
House Majority Leader	Steny Hoyer (D)	
House Majority Whip	James Clyburn (D)	
House Minority Leader	Kevin McCarthy (R)	
House Majority Whip	Steve Scalise (R)	
President Pro Tempore of the Senate	Patrick Leahy (D)	
Senate Majority Leader	Chuck Schumer (D)	
Senate Majority Whip	Richard Durbin (D)	
Senate Minority Leader	Mitch McConnell (R)	
Senate Minority Whip	John Thune (R)	
Supreme Court - Chief Justice (1)	John Roberts	
Supreme Court - Associate Justices (8)	Samuel Alito	
	Sonia Sotomayor	
	Elena Kagan	
	Clarence Thomas	
	Stephen Breyer	
	Neil Gorsuch	
	Brett Cavanaugh	
	Amy Coney Barrett	
United Nations Ambassador	Linda Thomas-Greenfield	

The Cabinet		
Attorney General	Merrick Garland	
Secretary of State	Antony Blinken	
Secretary of Treasury	Janet Yellen	
Secretary of Defense	General Lloyd Austin	
Secretary of Interior	Deb Haaland	
Secretary of Agriculture	Tom Vilsack	
Secretary of Commerce	Gina Raimondo	
Secretary of Labor	Marty Walsh	
Secretary of Health & Human Services	Xavier Becerra	
Secretary of Housing & Urban Development	Marcia Fudge	
Secretary of Transportation	Pete Buttigieg	
Secretary of Energy	Jennifer Granholm	
Secretary of Education	Miguel Cardona	
Secretary of Veterans Affairs	Denis McDonough	
Secretary of Homeland Security	Alejandro Mayorkas	

U.S. Senators from Tennessee (2)

Marsha Blackburn (R)	term expires 2025
Bill Hagerty (R)	term expires 2027

U.S House from Tennessee (9)

Representative	District
Diana Harshbarger (R)	1st
Tim Burchett (R)	2nd
Charles Fleischmann (R)	3rd
Scott DesJarlais (R)	4th
Jim Cooper (D)	5th
John Rose (R)	6th
Mark Green (R)	7th
David Kustoff (R)	8th
Steve Cohen (D)	9th

State of Tennessee Officers

Governor	Bill Lee (R)
Lt. Governor	Randy McNally (R)
Secretary of State	Tre Hargett (R)
Attorney General	Herbert Slatery III (R)
Comptroller of the Treasury	Jason E. Mumpower (R)
Treasurer	David H. Lillard, Jr. (R)
Supreme Court of TN Chief Justice	Jeffrey S. Bivins

The above officers (except Attorney General - 8 years) have four year terms.

To keep the legislature a part-time body, it is limited to ninety "legislative days" per two-year term, plus up to fifteen days for organizational purposes at the start of each term. A legislative day is considered any day that the House or Senate formally meets in the chambers of each house. If it remains in session longer than ninety legislative days, lawmakers cease to draw their expense money, currently set at \$141 per legislative day.

State Legislative Control: Senate: D-6, R-27 Total = 33 House: D-26, R-73, Total = 99

You can download the latest government officials sheet on our website at www.ajspublications.com, in the "Resources" section of the home page.



www.ajspublications.com